CofC Logo

Now Playing

Better three hours too soon than a minute too late.

The 2016-17 production season brings together musical theatre, drama, comedy, and dance in eight performances – offering the most diverse range of shows in Charleston. Season subscribers benefit from priority seating, flex-ticketing and exchange privileges. Opening nights include a talkback and reception with the cast and crew that give insight to the creativity and process taking place behind the scenes. This year, season subscribers receive free admission to the inaugural Summer Lab Series, a reimagined production of Romeo and Juliet

The Deparment of Theatre and Dance focuses on professional training and high production values. As a patron, your entertainment dollars support not only the productions, but also profound academic and real-world experiences for students. View the current season brochure.

Single show tickets are available ONLINE, at the Departmental Box Office or by calling 843.953.5604 two hours before curtain.


BREATHE.  A TRUE STORY by Brennen Reeves '14

Benefit Performance for the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation

Director: David Lee Nelson
Where: Theatre 220, Simons Center for the Arts, 54 St. Philip
When:

  • Thursday, August 4, 7:30 p.m. 
  • Friday, August 5, 7:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, August 6, 7:30 p.m.

Admission:  $22.00


ROMEO AND JULIET, by William Shakespeare

Summer Lab Series production exploring Contact Improv  

Director: Evan Parry & Krista Grevas
Where: Chapel Theatre, 172 Calhoun Street
When:

  • Thursday, August 11, 7:30 p.m. 
  • Friday, August 12, 7:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, August 13, 7:30 p.m.
  • Sunday, August 14, 2:00 p.m.
  • Thursday, August 18, 7:30 p.m. 
  • Friday, August 19, 7:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, August 20, 7:30 p.m.
  • Sunday, August 21, 2:00 p.m.
  • Thursday, September 1, 7:30 p.m. - TALKBACK
  • Friday, September 2, 7:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, September 3, 7:30 p.m.
  • Sunday, September 4, 2:00 p.m.

Admission: $15 Public; $10 CofC Students & Employees, Senior Citizens
Box Office: 843.953.5604 two hours prior to curtain or online


SUPERIOR DONUTS, by Tracey Letts

  

Director: Sharon Graci
Where: Emmett Robinson Theatre, 54 St. Philip Street
When:

  • Thursday, September 29, 7:30 p.m. - TALKBACK
  • Friday, September 30, 7:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, October 1, 7:30 p.m.
  • Sunday, October 2, 2:00 p.m.
  • Monday, October 3, 7:30 p.m.

Admission: $20 General; $12 CofC Students; $15  CofC Faculty/Staff/Senior Citizens/Students
Box Office: 843.953.5604 two hours prior to curtain or online


SAFE HARBOR

Artistic Director: Gretchen McLaine
Where: Emmett Robinson Theatre, 172 Calhoun Street
When:

  • Thursday, October 20,  7:30 p.m. - TALKBACK
  • Friday, October 21, 7:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, October 22, 7:30 p.m.
  • Sunday, October 23, 2:00 p.m.

Admission: $20 General; $12 CofC Students; $15  CofC Faculty/Staff/Senior Citizens/Students
Box Office: 843.953.5604 two hours prior to curtain or online


STAGE DOOR by Edna Ferber and George S. Kaufman

   

Director: Mark Landis
Where: Emmett Robinson Theatre, 172 Calhoun Street
When:

  • Thursday, November 17,  7:30 p.m. - TALKBACK
  • Friday, November 18, 7:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, November 19, 7:30 p.m.
  • Sunday, November 20, 2:00 p.m.
  • Sunday, November 20, 7:30 p.m.

Admission: $20 General; $12 CofC Students; $15  CofC Faculty/Staff/Senior Citizens/Students
Box Office: 843.953.5604 two hours prior to curtain or online


BUZZER, by Tracey Scott Wilson

 

Director: Joy Vandervort-Cobb
Where: Chapel Theatre, 172 Calhoun33e  Street
When:

  • Wednesday, January 25, 7:30 p.m. - TALKBACK
  • Thursday, January 26, 7:30 p.m. 
  • Friday, January 27,  7:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, January 28, 7:30 p.m.
  • Sunday, January 29, 2:00 p.m.
  • Wednesday, February 1, 7:30 p.m.
  • Thursday, February 2, 7:30 p.m.
  • Friday, February 3, 7:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, February 4, 7:30 p.m.

Admission: $15 Public; $10 CofC Students & Employees, Senior Citizens
Box Office: 843.953.5604 two hours prior to curtain or online


EMILIE: LA MARQUISE DU CHATELET DEFENDS HER LIFE TONIGHT, by Lauren Gunderson 

Director: Vivian Appler
Where: Emmett Robinson Theatre, 54 St. Philip Street
When:

  • Thursday, February 16, 7:30 p.m. - TALKBACK
  • Friday, February 17, 7:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, February 18, 7:30 p.m.
  • Sunday, February 19, 2:00 p.m.
  • Monday, February 20, 7:30 p.m.
  • Tuesday, February 21, 7:30 p.m.


Admission: $20 General; $12 CofC Students; $15  CofC Faculty/Staff/Senior Citizens/Students
Box Office: 843.953.5604 two hours prior to curtain or online


CHAPEL MOVES, by Dance Majors

 

Artistic Director: Kristin Alexander
Where: Chapel Theatre, 172 Calhoun Street 
When:

  • Thursday, March 23, 7:30 p.m. - TALKBACK
  • Friday, March 24, 7:30 p.m.
  • Saturday. March 25, 2:00 p.m.
  • Sunday, March 26, 2:00 p.m.


Admission:  $15 General, $10 CofC Student/Faculty/Staff/Senior Citizen, Students
Box Office: 843.953.5604 two hours prior to curtain or online


RENT, Books, Music and Lyrics by Jonathan Larson

Director: Todd McNerney
Where: Emmett Robinson Theatre, 54 St. Philip Street
When:

  • Thursday, April 6, 7:30 p.m. - TALKBACK
  • Friday, April 7, 7:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, April 8, 7:30 pm
  • Sunday, April 9, 2:00 p.m.
  • Monday, April 10, 7:30 p.m.
  • Tuesday, April 11, 7:30 p.m.


Admission: $20 General; $12 CofC Students; $15  CofC Faculty/Staff/Senior Citizens/Students
Box Office: 843.953.5604 two hours prior to curtain or online